T-22 Hours Until Lift-Off

The countdown continues.  22 hours until wheels up and our journey to Taipei begins.  We have a 6 hour flight from DC to San Francisco and then a 14 hour flight to Taipei.  I’m grateful that we have only one change of planes but surprised to learn that there is no meal on the 6 hour flight to San Fran!  Even the United agent was confused as to why the system kept rejecting her request for kids meals for the boys and vegetarian meal for me.  She finally figured out the request was rejected because there is no meal and expressed her dismay!  She advised me to stock up on food in the terminal and I assured her this is not our first time to the rodeo and had it covered, but thanked her.

The boys have their digital devices charged and ready to go and we have back-up battery juice packs, just in case.  Bob has about 10 pounds of biographies, in his backpack, which he’s been itching to dig into but has been saving for the trip.  We loaded the ipads with new movies and audio books and kindle books, so no one should be bored.

We have been out of our house for three weeks now and are packed and ready to go (for the most part.)  We have 13 suitcases and a bike box for the longboard.  Because we are traveling on military orders, we are each entitled to 2 checked bags and Horatio is entitled to 3.  We’ll have to pay for the extra bag and also if any of the bags are overweight, which it very likely.  We’ve arranged for transportation to the airport at 5:45 tomorrow morning, and there will be people from Horatio’s office at the airport to pick us up when we arrive at 6:30 pm on Thursday. I hope it all goes smoothly.

pile of luggageI’ll admit I am grumpy today.  Horatio asked what is wrong and I said, “nothing other than the obvious.”  I thought about it for a minute and then went on, “I think I’m working my way through the stages of grief and today I’m on the anger stage.”  He acknowledged the validity of my feelings and we moved on.

Leaving a community we’ve been a part of for five years is hard.  We firmly planted and put down roots here and immersed ourselves.  We have fantastic neighbors and friends and are very attached to them.  I have avoided dwelling on this aspect of the move but it’s hitting home now.  I have focused on the tasks at hand for the past few months, but with departure looming, I have no choice but to face the heartache head-on today.  True, I’m still focusing on the tasks of final packing and laundry and cleaning, but I’ve said farewell to two dear friends today and Bob and Harold will do the same.  Dwight, bless him, is just like his mom.  He made plans to see his buddies one last time, but decided he would rather just chill today… thereby avoiding having to say goodbye.  Zack remains glued to his laptop but will be writing his first blog post today, on his Globetrotting Gamer blog. 

There’s still much to be done, so I’ll be back to writing upon our arrival on the other side of the globe.

Peace.

2742812521_f9d6cca754

About Commander in Chief At home

Erin is a military spouse and, sometimes temporarily single mom to 4 boys. She's a parenting coach, writer, teacher, special needs (Autism) mom, and much more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear how you feel about this. Leave a Comment

