The First Week… The Return of Mrs. Murphy

For those of you who may not remember, Mrs. Murphy is the stronger, trickier, sidekick to Mr. Murphy, of Murphy’s Law infamy.  She has returned to our house and Horatio has been gone for less than one week of his two and a half months in the US.

Where to begin…  He left on Saturday and by that evening, Bob and Harold had taken it upon themselves to devise a plan to take turns sleeping in my bed while Horatio is away from home.  When I asked if I have a say in the plan, they agreed that, no, I do not.  I’m actually ok with this plan.  I’m happy to let them share the king size bed as long as they still want to share it.

On Sunday night, Harold had a terrible time falling asleep, probably because he already misses his Daddy, and on Monday, he woke with a fever.  Thankfully, we have our ayi, Xiao Lu, at our house every day during the week, so I was able to run a few errands while Harold rested and watched movies on Apple TV.

On Tuesday, Dwight decided to pursue the idea of getting a moped so he can be more independently mobile.  He was truly set on the idea and excited about spending the money he earned working at the embassy over winter break on a sweet new ride.  However, Horatio and I discussed it and while we understand why it would be great for him to have a moped, we think it is a bad idea for a 16 year old to ride on the streets of Beijing on such a vehicle, even in our haven away from the city.  Beijing drivers are extremely aggressive and always think they have the right of way, so they don’t look to see what other vehicles are coming their way.  We’d never be able to forgive ourselves if Dwight was seriously hurt on the moped we let him buy.  So, with the hard NO response, Dwight was not pleased, to say the least, and since I’m the only parent around, I bore the brunt of the serious debate, disappointment and frustration.  Doors were slammed and crickets could be heard for the rest of the evening.

Later that evening, just before bed, Harold had a large glass of milk which did not sit well in his stomach.  So, this sweet smelling, just showered, cherub left a mess on himself and from the study, through the hallway, and into the bathroom.  He had to take another shower and couldn’t settle down to sleep until nearly 10:00.  I was left with laundry to wash.

All better and ready for bed for the second time.

Bob came home from school on Tuesday to tell me it is time to pay for his Model UN trip to Malaysia.  So, on Wednesday I had to go all the way to the embassy (45 minutes to an hour drive) to cash a check so that we could pay for the trip, in cash.  The cashier’s office at the school only accepts cash.  China is very much a cash based society.  I’m crossing my fingers that the large stack of 100 RMB notes will make it to the cashier.

Starting two nights ago, I came down with a cold, complete with full body achiness and fever, but what is a temporarily single mom to do in this situation?  Take a bunch of meds and press on, right?

Today is a new day.  I’ve prepped the house for the arrival of my parents, who are visiting for Spring Break, and I will run errands and then take it easy for the rest of the day…  I hope.

About Commander in Chief At home

Erin is a military spouse and, sometimes temporarily single mom to 4 boys. She's a parenting coach, writer, teacher, special needs (Autism) mom, and much more.
This entry was posted in Living abroad, military family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The First Week… The Return of Mrs. Murphy

  1. James L Henderschedt says:

    Reminds me of the Minnesotan proverb…..They told me to cheer up….things could be worse. So, I cheered up and…sure enough….things got worse. the good news is….Mom and Dad are on their way that they can take turns appeasing Mrs. Murphy.
    Also, experience has taught this 80+ year old father that they day will come when the offended child who dream was dashed to the ground will admit that mom and dad had the better take on the situation and maybe even thank you…….as Horatio has done to us when being strict paid off.

    Like

I'd love to hear how you feel about this. Leave a Comment

