Making a House a Home

My first goal, upon moving into a new house, is to make it feel like home to our family.  Typically, the houses, provided to us by the government, are pretty generic, so I like to make changes to personalize them.

Of course, as soon as our shipment arrives, I put up our personal artwork and photos, I toss around our throw pillows, and put out our knickknacks, but it’s more than that.  I, personally, don’t want to live in a place that looks drab, and lived-in, by someone else, so I like to change things up a bit.  I can upgrade little things, even in the kitchen and bathrooms, to make the houses more appealing.  I don’t mind spending a little money to make our abode shine a bit, and I don’t have to spend much to do it.

I visit home improvement websites to find fixtures and accessories to make our place look better and feel more comfortable.

Let’s face it, we all spend a lot of time in the kitchen, so upgrading fixtures to improve its appeal is definitely worth the effort and a bit of money.  My kitchen sink faucet leaves a lot to be desired.  It’s really plain and dull, so it’s the first thing I want replace.  I don’t have time to wander around our new city, looking for kitchen and bath fixtures, so I shop online and then get someone to install them for me.

Park-House-Kitchen-Before-We-Touched-It-42-600x450_thumb

Won’t this look better?

kohler-k-99259-2bz-51

 

Another simple thing I like to change, in every house we move into, is all of the toilet seats.  After all, it really is a simple way to freshen up the place and make it feel like ours.

Relocating constantly can make for an unsettling lifestyle, but working a bit to improve the look and feel and functionality of our houses is worth the energy.  As I walk through my house for the next three years, if I’ve made personal changes, I can really feel like it’s mine.

This post was sponsored by PlumbTile

About Commander in Chief At home

Erin is a military spouse and, sometimes temporarily single mom to 4 boys. She's a parenting coach, writer, teacher, special needs (Autism) mom, and much more.
This entry was posted in military family, sponsored post and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making a House a Home

  1. Louise Rovak says:

    😉

    >

    Like

  2. Rick says:

    Great tips for those constantly on the move.

    Like

I'd love to hear how you feel about this. Leave a Comment

