The Car is Here!

After five months of taking taxis and subways and buses, our white minivan, code name: The Family Ferrari, is in our driveway.  Free at last!

The battery was dead upon arrival and after the recharge, the radio and clock are not working until we can figure out the code to restart them.  We are hoping it is in the paperwork that will be sent shortly, but this issue is small potatoes.

Horatio arrived back in Taipei after several weeks away and drove our car home from work.  We have temporary tags for two weeks but can drive as we please, just in time for the winter break.  We enjoyed a lunch out as our first family outing without having to wait for a taxi.

Early in the morning, though, Horatio took the car out for a spin and drove to the handful of destinations I will most often visit: the school, the Club, Costco and his work; and he entered them all into the GPS for me.  I admit that I am apprehensive about driving here.  The roads are chaotic; hundreds of scooters dodge in and out of traffic and pass on the right; and traffic patterns are often contradictory to those we are familiar with in the US.  Oh, and did I mention that I don’t read the language here?  I will do it, though.

taipei traffic

Today I will venture out in the car for the first time.  The two younger boys have dentist appointments.  The office is near the school, so it’s about 20 minutes from our house.  I am definitely nervous, but not enough to make me want to take a taxi.  I will park at the school or in the underground garage near the office.  After the appointment, since we have the luxury of not having to hail a cab, we will walk around and find something to take home for dinner.

Free at last!

Taipei traffic 2

About Commander in Chief At home

Erin is a military spouse and, sometimes temporarily single mom to 4 boys. She's a parenting coach, writer, teacher, special needs (Autism) mom, and much more.
This entry was posted in Living abroad. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Car is Here!

  1. Jim Henderschedt says:

    Oi….the traffic!!!! If I’d be driving I would become an instant believer in prayer. Good News thought….and Erin….you can do ti!

    Like

  2. Paula Hould says:

    Those pictures would make me nervous about driving there for sure. You Can Do It Erin!!!!!

    Like

I'd love to hear how you feel about this. Leave a Comment

