The Crazy Construction Robots

So, this is happening in front of my house today.

With the high unemployment rate in Taipei, I’d think that the government would want to hire actual people to direct traffic around the construction all around the city.  They are widening our street and the noise is deafening at times.  There seems to be an endless run of construction work on our street. Usually it includes a jackhammer.  Maybe they are trying to preserve the hearing of more individuals.  I’d love some ear plugs, or taxi fare to vacate the premises if they are truly concerned.

I’m guessing the sign behind the mannequin says something about shutting off the water in our area because we’ve had 2 to 3 hour periods with no water every day this week, with no apparent warning. I’m illiterate in Mandarin, so I’ll just give them the benefit of the doubt and assume that they put it in writing. When I asked one of the construction guys when they would turn it back on, first he pointed at me and told his coworker that I was speaking Mandarin, then he told me “very quickly.” I think that’s a relative term.

This happens about 7 out of every 10 days.

IMG_5470

Sign in front of my house. Not to mention the red line that clearly indicates “No Parking.”

IMG_5468

I can’t read Mandarin because I never made the time and it’s not my native language. What’s his excuse? The road crews are constantly parking in front of our gate.

IMG_5808

Equal opportunities. The ERA is alive and well in Taiwan and she gets paid as much as he does!

Plus, there’s a guy on my roof, with a broom.

I should probably be alarmed by this, but this lifestyle lends itself to crazy encounters, so I just let it go.  It’s never dull, that’s for sure.

When the younger boys arrived home from school, Harold The Feisty First Grader howled with laughter at the sight of the roadwork robot and promptly joined in the hard work.

Maybe he can start bringing in the bacon? (Vegan, of course.)

About Commander in Chief At home

Erin is a military spouse and, sometimes temporarily single mom to 4 boys. She's a parenting coach, writer, teacher, special needs (Autism) mom, and much more.
This entry was posted in Living abroad and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear how you feel about this. Leave a Comment

