Searching High and Low for Bread and a Run

I can’t find a reliable source for sliced bread.  I thought I had, but it turns out I haven’t.  I’m looking forward to the arrival of our bread machine in our shipment as much as anything. 

I’ve been to the local grocery store three times this week and the bakery shelves are completely bare. It’s a strange thing.  I can understand regular western products disappearing from the shelves.  If they can’t get the supply, they can’t put it on the shelves.  But they bake the bread in the store, so what’s the deal? 

While I continue my pursuit of bread, I also remain in pursuit of a good route for my run.  The route I have been taking for the past three weeks is basically a steep incline up the mountain and therefor, a steep decline back home.  Neither of which is ideal.  So, today I headed up through the village, where I’d been told the road leads to a less hilly path.  It was beautiful and I was happy to see that while most of the route was mildly hilly, it was definitely doable. 

The area where I ran is so remote, my map my run app lost connection.  I kept waiting for the notification that I’d reached the mile mark, but it didn’t come.  When I finally stopped to check my phone, knowing I had to have run a mile, just based on the time, I saw that the connection had been lost.  I turned around and after several minutes, I heard the familiar voice say something wholly unfamiliar.  “Time, five minutes 37 seconds; Distance, one mile.”  I laughed out loud.  Twice that is more like it.  It was fun to hear, though. 

These are pictures from my new route.  It is truly beautiful but the smell is more than a little unpleasant due to the hot springs in the area.  Sulfur!  I’ll have to find the hot springs on my next route.

IMG_5652 IMG_5654

Waterfall!

Waterfall!

IMG_5663

The locals use pipes to take advantage of the fresh water, but it spoils the view.

IMG_5661IMG_5665 IMG_5658

About Commander in Chief At home

Erin is a military spouse and, sometimes temporarily single mom to 4 boys. She's a parenting coach, writer, teacher, special needs (Autism) mom, and much more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Searching High and Low for Bread and a Run

  1. theroommom says:

    Definitely looks foreign!

    Like

I'd love to hear how you feel about this. Leave a Comment

