It’s Going to Take a While

I’m going to do something I rarely do.  I’m going to complain, so if you aren’t in the mood, feel free to skip this post.  I think I’m due, though.  So far, I’ve done pretty well settling into life here.  It’s only been 2 1/2 weeks, so I guess some bumps in the road are to be expected, but I’m not in the mood, so I’m going to share the bumps with my supportive readers.  Of course, as always, I’m keeping it all in perspective.  I know none of this is a big deal in the grand scheme of things.  Thank G-d, we are all healthy, we have a comfortable home, plenty to eat and drink, happy kids, etc.  Sometimes, though, it all feels like a bit too much.

Adjusting to a new “home” is almost never easy.  I’m finding this one to be especially hard at the moment.  In some ways, I think I’m doing quite well, but the lack of friends, and the plethora of undesirable creatures, are starting to get to me.

I know the friend issue will work itself out in the next few weeks because the families in our neighborhood, the majority of whom are on home-leave in the US, will make their way back, and school starts on the 14th, so we will meet people at the bus stop, at the grocery store and at new-family events at the school.

The creatures are going to be a constant presence during our stay here, though, and I’m struggling with that fact more each day.  The mosquitoes are larger than your average blood sucker and more than a little bit of a nuisance.  Poor Bob already has more than 20 bites.  I’ve started putting a mixture of basic moisturizer and tea tree oil on Bob and Harold at night since they seem to be the most affected, and it is helping.

Ants are merely a bit of a bother.  I put down traps in the kitchen and their numbers are dwindling.

We’ve now seen three large cockroaches, one which was flying.  I really REALLY hate cockroaches.  I dealt with them in my first apartment in DC and again in our house in Virginia Beach.  I didn’t like it 22 years ago, I didn’t like it 16 years ago and I don’t like it now.  I will go to great lengths to eliminate them from my living space.  They are a part of nature with which I will not share my living space.  I would not step on one crawling outside in my yard, but if they get too close for comfort, they give me no choice.

cockroachToday I had my first snake encounter.  I’d anticipated it since we arrived and the wait is now over, sort of.  I walked into the living room and spotted something that looked like a long piece of black yarn on our carpet.  Upon closer investigation, I discovered it was not yarn, nor a large worm, it was, undeniably, a tiny snake.  It slithered and had scales.  Our family resident snake expert, 16 year old Zack, identified it as a nonvenomous blind snake, and it was fast!

blind-snakeLuckily, our new housekeeper was on hand and had experience with this sort of thing.  She picked it up with a paper towel and gave it a burial at sea.  I still will be nervously on the lookout for the larger, venomous snake species who occupy the great outdoors on the mountain on which we live.  As long as they stay outside, though, I think I’ll handle it well.  As I run each day, I maintain a 2 foot distance from the brush and shrubbery at the side of the road, just in case.

The boys have dealt with the creatures with grace.  They seem unphased.  I am extremely proud of them for how they are adjusting.

On my run a few days ago, after a heavy rain, I encountered more than 20 of these red and black, 6 to 12 inch-long worms, and about half a dozen large spiders.IMG_5539IMG_5537Today is the first day all the little annoyances have gotten to me.  I’m sure I’ll feel better in a day or two.  I know I’m entitled to a day like this now and then, but I hope they few and far between.

Thanks for listening.
Follow my blog with Bloglovin

About Commander in Chief At home

Erin is a military spouse and, sometimes temporarily single mom to 4 boys. She's a parenting coach, writer, teacher, special needs (Autism) mom, and much more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Going to Take a While

  1. Marcie says:

    Erin, I don’t blame you one bit for complaining about all those creepy crawlers! Boy, I’m with you on the cockroaches and snakes. And can totally relate to to your guys with the mosquitoes…I am very allergic to them and get affected more than anyone in my family…often to the times of really swelling up and more than just an annoying itch. I give you so much credit!!!! You are an amazing Mom! Do they have exterminators there?

    Like

  2. mkowalewski says:

    Hang in there Erin! And those creepy crawlers give me the chills. šŸ˜›

    Like

I'd love to hear how you feel about this. Leave a Comment

