Costco in Taipei: The Same as Home but with Taiwanese Characteristics

The morning after our arrival, our welcome family took me to Costco.  I have to admit that knowing there is a Costco here was extremely comforting to me, making the move slightly less overwhelming.

The store was pretty much as I expected it to be.  It looked just like an American Costco, but with Chinese characteristics.  As with any Costco, you have to plan your timing so you don’t end up in a mob scene.  We arrived about 30 minutes after the official opening time and the store was busy but not overly crowded.  As I shopped, though, it grew increasingly congested. 

The store has two levels and upon entering, one must go directly to the second level. I struggled to find my way down, after I’d meandered through the second level.  The “down” people mover was not at all clearly marked.  I eventually found it, obviously, otherwise I might still be there, walking through the toiletry items and vitamins…

From the ramp, going up to the second level.

From the ramp, going down to the first level.

I quickly made my way through the aisles, getting items on my list, such as bath soap and bath mats, as well as food items the boys are used to from home, such as chicken nuggets, mozzarella sticks and Ritz Crackers.  I also found the fun snacks they remember from when we lived in China.

IMG_5422I filled my cart, even while skipping items to get on a future trip, in the interest of saving space and money.  This cart full of items came to about $600 US.  Moving and settling in is an expensive process!

IMG_5426I even ordered a cake for Zack’s upcoming 16th birthday.  I asked for it to be ready on the 23rd, since Horatio will be traveling starting on Saturday. However, we are in the path of an incoming typhoon, so I asked Horatio to call and see if we can have it tomorrow, instead.  More on the typhoon later…

IMG_5425

notice the different flavor options. Like I said, the same, but different.

 

About Commander in Chief At home

Erin is a military spouse and, sometimes temporarily single mom to 4 boys. She's a parenting coach, writer, teacher, special needs (Autism) mom, and much more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Costco in Taipei: The Same as Home but with Taiwanese Characteristics

  1. Christine says:

    A two-level Costco?! That sounds so cool. Enjoy settling in!

    Like

I'd love to hear how you feel about this. Leave a Comment

