The Panic Ebbs and Flows

A household move, for any reason, places stress on every member of the family.  I’m pretty sure it is safe to say that an overseas move is more stressful than most.  I’ve done it before and I’ll do it again, but, each time, it only gets slightly less overwhelming, stressful, tiring… (need I go on?)

We decided that it would be worth the trouble to take Westley, our German Shorthaired Pointer, with us to Taiwan.  He has become a true member of our family and we cannot imagine life without him.  Our wheels-up date is mid July, but I learned two weeks ago that the dog needs a rabies titer blood test no less than 180 days before he is permitted entry into Taiwan.  For the mathematically challenged, that puts Westley’s wheels-up date approximately three months AFTER ours.  This is why I am having a panic attack, right now!

Harold and Wes

One should not dismiss the physical toll stress like this takes on the body.  My heart is racing, my stomach feels like it wants to turn inside out, and I’d like to dive into a pint of ice cream right now; but I’ve worked too hard getting healthy to do that, so I’m going to run on the treadmill instead, and hope that helps.

I’m trying to figure out how to get Westley cared for in the time he is in limbo, while not inconveniencing anyone…  too much.  However I plan the logistics, it will be complicated and inconvenient, I am just trying to figure out how to minimize the effects.

There are pet relocation facilitators out there, and we may resort to that, but the costs are not insignificant.  I’ll figure it out, but the process is complicated and tiring.

And now for the helpful bit for other military spouses dealing with a stressful PCS move right now…

In order to get through moments like this, in addition to exercise or snacking, I try very hard to remind myself that while the anxiety is high now and the tasks at hand seem insurmountable, it will all get done and in a few short months the stress will all be behind me.  In August, we will be getting settled in Taipei. (OK, still stressful, but a different sort of stress.)  I will have figured out all of the details of reuniting with our sweet pup, and the panic attacks will be but a memory.

Perspective is key to getting through any stressful time in life and there’s always a way to find it, you just have to look for it.

Oh, and did I mention we will be out of the country for five years, instead of three?  Home is where the Navy sends us…

 

 

 

About Commander in Chief At home

Erin is a military spouse and, sometimes temporarily single mom to 4 boys. She's a parenting coach, writer, teacher, special needs (Autism) mom, and much more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear how you feel about this. Leave a Comment

