The Wear and Tear on the Kids

I know that Taiwan will be great for us.  We look forward to the adventures.  Getting to the happy and settled point will be a rocky road.

9 year old Bob wanted to tell all of his friends at once so he asked me to ask his teachers if he could share the news at his class’s “Morning Meeting.”  He told me he was worried about how it would go, and I could see the sadness on his face, so I asked if he thought it would help if I was at the school when he told his friends.  He said, “yes, please.”

This morning I walked with him and Harold to the elementary school and waited around for the meeting.   School starts at 8:40 and the meeting is at 8:50, so I checked in at the office and waited in the area of the meeting.  Bob looked nervous when he walked to the gathering of the class.  His teachers gave introduction to the meeting and asked for news from the kids.  I’m not 100% sure of everything that was said because half of it was in Japanese, as Bob is in a partial immersion class.

sharing the news 1

Finally it was Bob’s turn to talk.  He stood and, hands in his pockets, announced, “Next summer I am moving to Taiwan.  We will be there for three years and then I’ll come back for 8th grade.”  He put his head down and could not stop the tears.  I could see that his friends were surprised and some took it harder than I’d have expected.  He sat down and his closest friends embraced him.

 

sharing the news 2I know our adventures in Taiwan will be great, and focusing on that aspect is what gets me through the day.  Getting through the next months, though, will not be easy.

 

 

About Commander in Chief At home

Erin is a military spouse and, sometimes temporarily single mom to 4 boys. She's a parenting coach, writer, teacher, special needs (Autism) mom, and much more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear how you feel about this. Leave a Comment

