A Father’s War

 

Guest Post By Author Judith Sanders:

In His Stead: ‘A Father’s War’ by Judith Sanders                      

“The true soldier fights not because he hates what is in front of him, but because he loves what is behind him.” English writer G. K. Chesterton

                Those words were written a long ago but are just as true today. During long separations what keeps the fires burning between hearts apart are thoughts of what is waiting at the end of a deployment. Coming through that time is stressful for the soldier returning to hearth & home just as much as it is for the love ones who are waiting.

May is Military Family Appreciation month. And while I have never been in the military, war has been the backdrop of my life and has influenced both my career as a nurse and as a writer. I lost high school friends in Vietnam… my brother in-law was an Army sniper during that war…My husband is retired Army…. I worked as a civilian nurse for the Armyand I have two grandnephews now serving; one in the Army & another in the Marines. Both have just returned from their first tours in Afghanistan.

I have put all of the adventures and emotions garnered from my loved ones into my new novel. In His Stead is the story of a retired Army Ranger & father who will do anything to protect his last son, even if it means taking the boy’s place using a law that has not been invoked since the Civil War. For this Army Ranger protecting his family is what life is about.

I wish all the best to our military families and friends. And I hope anyone reading this will give a special thank you to our military families: they have moved multiple times, constantly need to make new friends, celebrate holidays without love ones, and for months at a time give up part of their own hearts so that the rest of us are safe.

Something special:

Proceeds of my novel go to benefit HeartsApart.org. a charity for military families. Free of charge, they take professional photographs of families who have a member deploying. The family receives a set of photos FREE to keep at home and the member deploying receives a vinyl, war proof, trifold card with the same pictures. Did I say it’s FREE?

Please go to HeartsApart.org and check out this FREE service! While you are there enjoy the fantastic pictures!

See the book trailer for In His Stead: A Father’s War at:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C2V_djSTXzc&list=PLTc4hhX3H0IpPvzo_SZigd1VOAnLfKYOk&index=1

Inline image 1

About Commander in Chief At home

Erin is a military spouse and, sometimes temporarily single mom to 4 boys. She's a parenting coach, writer, teacher, special needs (Autism) mom, and much more.
This entry was posted in Product Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Father’s War

  1. Lainie Levin says:

    Thank you for this post! Hope you don’t mind if I share…

    Like

I'd love to hear how you feel about this. Leave a Comment

