Everyone Is Busy

To say that I was busy during the deployment is stating the obvious, so I try not to dwell on it in conversation.

Sure, taking care of 4 kids, dealing with the effects of autism, and all that entails, as a temporarily single parent during deployment, leaves very little time for hobbies.  But, everyone is busy.  My situation is somewhat unique in the community where we live, but I’m certainly not the only busy parent.

I’ll say it again.  Everyone is busy.

I have always thrived on a busy schedule.

The past school year went very fast.  I know it feels that way every year, but it felt like last year really flew, despite the absence of my best friend and partner in parenting.  When summer came, I was very glad to have our second school year of the deployment behind us.  I am happy that were all able to pause and take a deep breath and refresh during the summer.  Summer is busy too, but a more flexible sort of busy.

Of course summer flew by, too.

Last school year was busier than ever.  I got Zack into a social skills support group, Dwight started back into tennis, Bob got into tae kwon do, Dwight and Bob did a running program after school that culminated in a 5K we all did (I, on a sprained ankle), I became the room parent for one of the boys’ classes when no other parent could, or would, do it because they were “too busy”, Dwight had surgery, and there are countless other events that kept us running.

Despite having an overflowing schedule, I didn’t focus on the hardship.  What’s the point?  I kept things in perspective.  There are plenty of people out there who are busier or in a tougher spot than I am.  Sometimes, it’s fun to laugh at the craziness of our schedule, but not once did I feel sorry for myself of complain to others.  Talk about it, yes, complain, never.  I refuse to feel sorry for myself, especially over something so trivial, and never would I use it as a vague excuse to get out of doing something.

I’ve said in other posts that I feel empowered by overcoming obstacles and meeting challenges head on.  A busy schedule helps me.

My point is, before saying you can’t do something for your child’s school this year because you are too busy, think about the person you are telling.  My guess is she or he is equally busy, if not more so.  So, rethink your answer and perhaps change it.  Are you really too busy?  Pitch in and do your part so that the kids have another great year.  Your kids will remember that you were in the classroom and they will remember if you weren’t.  Which do you want?  Be proactive in shaping the positive memories of your children’s school days.

Oh, and just so I don’t get bored during this school year, I’ve volunteered (or have been volunteered is probably a more accurate way to put it) to be Cub Scout Den co-leader for Bob’s den (while working from the inside for equality in scouting) and PTA 1st Vice President.  Zack is back in the social skills group, Dwight is back to tennis and Bob is starting baseball.  After all, I’ve got to stay on my toes…

About Commander in Chief At home

Erin is a military spouse and, sometimes temporarily single mom to 4 boys. She's a parenting coach, writer, teacher, special needs (Autism) mom, and much more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear how you feel about this. Leave a Comment

