The Many Sacrifices of Military Families

Many of the sacrifices that military families make are obvious: the long separations, the frequent moves, the lower pay, etc.

Today I am reminded of a sacrifice that most people probably don’t think of and one that extends beyond the immediate family.

My grandmother passed away this morning.  She was 95 years old.  She lived a full life, spent quality time with her five grandsons and knew much love.

Now, though, I find myself 800 miles away, unable to get to the funeral.  Horatio will be home on Thursday night but in our faith, the funeral takes place as soon after death as possible.  Cost prohibits flying with my four children, the drive takes 14 + hours and we’d be unable to get back home in time to meet Horatio at the airport.

A death in the family takes a tole on everyone.  It is lonely to be apart from everyone else and it is hard to know I cannot be there for my Dad at the time of the loss of his mother.

Thankfully, my parents have a planned visit for about 10 days from now, so we can be together then.  It doesn’t erase the feeling of sacrifice, though.

About Commander in Chief At home

Erin is a military spouse and, sometimes temporarily single mom to 4 boys. She's a parenting coach, writer, teacher, special needs (Autism) mom, and much more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Many Sacrifices of Military Families

  1. Andrea Kelly says:

    I’m sorry for your loss, thank you for all you do! I am glad you and your family will be reunited soon.

    Like

  2. I love your pictures. They warmed my heart this morning. May your grandmother’s memory be a blessing to you..

    Like

I'd love to hear how you feel about this. Leave a Comment

