4 more sleeps, I hope we can make it

GO AWAY Mrs. Murphy, and take your law with you!

Four more sleeps with the daddy doll until the real daddy comes home.

I am wondering, though, how many more things will go wrong before Horatio finally returns to us.  He has been away for 591 days and most of them have gone quite smoothly but it feels like Mrs. Murphy (see recent post) is working overtime at our house lately.

Just in the last week, the car battery died, a light bulb fell and shattered on the basement steps, I further injured my already sprained ankle, one of the boys spilled frozen yogurt on the basement carpet and of course it was chocolate, that same child dripped fruit punch flavored (RED) icee on the basement steps, Harold has come down with a terrible cold and today he “kluncked” the toilet.  I have handled each of the hiccups well enough, with no panicking or freaking out of any kind, actually.  When the toilet refused to flush today, though, I began to feel like enough is enough.  I hobbled upstairs to find the plunger, hobbled back down and set to the task.  With four boys in the house, I’m no stranger to it, after all.  This one, though, is getting the better of me.  I cannot fix the problem, or, I’d rather say, “I have yet to fix the problem,” and it has been 12 hours.  I really don’t want to have to call a plumber.

Meanwhile, Horatio has settled into the “end is in sight” mode.  He had his Navy Hail and Farewell party with his colleagues, his replacement has arrived and basically taken over the job, he has moved off of the ship into a hotel.  He emails daily about how little time there is left, and asks if we are excited for his return.  The boys, of course, are elated to tear off the latest link on the paper chain each night.

But when Horatio asks me if I’m ready and if it feels like it’s getting close to the end, I have to admit that it feels a lot like it did a few months ago.  I have to really consciously make myself remember that we are short-timers now.  It still feels the same because I’m still doing exactly what I’ve been doing for the past 19 1/2 months, plus dealing with all the little hiccups, plus getting the house back to the way it was when he left, not to mention planning a homecoming party for nearly 50 people.

Don’t get me wrong, I am absolutely overjoyed to think that in 4 more days the long road we’ve been on will turn in a new direction.  I cannot wait to have my husband, best friend, partner in life, and co parent back home.  Each day, though, feels pretty much the same, when things go wrong and I can only dream of what it will be like to have someone around to help again, no matter how soon that is.

About Commander in Chief At home

Erin is a military spouse and, sometimes temporarily single mom to 4 boys. She's a parenting coach, writer, teacher, special needs (Autism) mom, and much more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 4 more sleeps, I hope we can make it

  1. Roz Weitzman says:

    Hi there, Erin,
    Only 4 more days…it seems like only yesterday that you moved back and he was being deployed. What a blessing it will be to have him home! Good luck and say hi to all for me.
    Best, Roz

    Like

I'd love to hear how you feel about this. Leave a Comment

