I’ve said, many times, that I don’t think people should feel sorry for me. My husband is away, for a long time, yes, but our bond is strong, our kids are great kids and, honestly, I don’t feel like it’s that hard. Usually.

Lately I have been in a bit of a funk. I wouldn’t go so far as to say I feel sorry for myself, but I do feel a bit worn down. I must admit that it actually is a lot of work to do everything every day and sometimes it does get to me. I get tired. Sick and tired. But, I still feel lucky. Like I said, our kids are great, Horatio and I have a strong marriage and I can count on him when I need him, even if it is just words of encouragement and thanks from 1000s of miles away.

One thing that does get to me sometimes, though, is when other people complain about their spouses working too much, missing a school play, or even missing dinner. It can be a little hard to take sometimes, when, in the 8 months that Horatio has been deployed this time, he has missed, Dwight’s 10th birthday, Chanukah, Harold’s 3rd birthday, Christmas, his own birthday, New Years, Bob’s 7th birthday, my 40th birthday, Zack’s 13th birthday and countless plays, concerts, ceremonies and more.  I don’t expect other people to not get fed up with life’s little hiccups, but it would be nice if people would remember that they are just hiccups and there are bigger things going on, not just in the world, but right in their communities.

I stopped worrying about my own “problems” when I heard the news of more than 30 of our Navy family making the ultimate sacrifice for our country last week.

Horatio and our family certainly have given up a lot in the past months, and over the years, and will continue to do so, but our sacrifice is nothing even close to what thousands of other military families have sacrificed in years since the start of the current wars.

I pray for my husband’s safety every night and as a family we all pray, each night, for a blessing for the Sailors, Soldiers, Airmen and Marines and their families.  Our situation is not ideal, but it is ours.  We chose it, and our family will be stronger for it in the long run.  I am thankful for the life we have, hiccups or not.

About Commander in Chief At home

Erin is a military spouse and, sometimes temporarily single mom to 4 boys. She's a parenting coach, writer, teacher, special needs (Autism) mom, and much more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear how you feel about this. Leave a Comment

