Why I think being a military spouse has made me more laid back- or not

When people imagine life in the home of a military family, they probably think of order, whistles, bed making quarter tests, etc. My house is anything but… Well, it’s a little like that, but I’ll explain that later.

I realized, early on, that I had to relax, when it comes to running the household, or I’d go crazy. With four boys to care for, on my own, high expectations for housekeeping are a recipe for disaster. If I expected everything to be in order all the time, I’d go crazy. I would love for the clutter to disappear, and there are days when it does drive me crazy, but I’ve learned to keep those days to a minimum.

I used to want the kids to stay inside after dinner, wanting them to be ready for bed early, but they are older and I realize that playing outside is more of a need than a want.

I used to really dislike playdoh.  I mean, the kids had fun with it, but it leaves tiny dried balls of color all over the table and floor and vacuuming is just ONE MORE THING to do.  But, I realize that not only is vacuuming not a big deal, or time suck- as long as I have the cordless in the kitchen, the value of something that keeps a preschooler happy for 30+ minutes is invaluable!  So what if it makes a little mess?

It’s the same with other crafts.  I used to think, ‘I have to get all the supplies out, put paper down, supervise, clean up, etc.’  Now I let the boys get the supplies, out, prepare the area and clean up.  Of course I have to step in to help sometimes and add to the clean up, but I realize that it’s not a big deal.

After Dinner Craft Time

I am a stickler for some things, though.  Some of my friends make fun of me b/c I do fit the stereotype of rigid expectations of rule following.  When I want to make sure the boys are listening, I call, from wherever I am, “Line Up!”

Within a minute, all four boys are standing before me, arms at their sides, eyes on me, waiting for instructions.  It looks a little crazy to an outsider, but it works and I will not stop doing it.

I’ve thought about using a bosun’s wistle, but haven’t made that leap… yet.  I do own one.  And, I think it would work…

The point is, in my opinion, if I let go of high expectations for things that really don’t matter and make room for the things that do matter, things go more smoothly in our house.  I don’t let go of keeping order and having rules, but no one will remember the clutter or mess, they will remember the fun!

About Commander in Chief At home

Erin is a military spouse and, sometimes temporarily single mom to 4 boys. She's a parenting coach, writer, teacher, special needs (Autism) mom, and much more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why I think being a military spouse has made me more laid back- or not

  1. MilblogHQ says:

    Your website has been added to the new Android App (and soon iPhone app) MilBlogHQ. It brings in many Milblog (including yours) to one place. Tweets, Facebook posts, Blog Posts, List of the top 100 Milblogs, Military Podcasts and MilBlogrolls.
    Go to the android market: https://market.android.com/
    Simplest way to find it is do a search in the top right corner for “Milblog” ans the MilblogHQ app will come up.
    Download the app.
    See what other Milblogs are listed at our website/blog: http://milbloghq.blogspot.com/
    The app is brand new and before we launch it globally, we wanted to inform you that your blogs were the first to be honored on the application. If you have any suggestions or questions please contact us at milblogHQ@gmail.com

    Like

I'd love to hear how you feel about this. Leave a Comment

