Today Autism 1, Us 1

Some days are relatively easy, today was not one of those days.  I even keep a mental score card, it’s us against the autism, some days.

Today, I feel like the ASD tried to move ahead, but we matched it 1 for 1.

Every day, when Zack comes through the door from middle school, I call to him from wherever I am, “Hey, Zack, I’m glad you’re home, how’re you doing?”

I can tell, immediately, from his tone of voice and the sound of his footsteps, how he is doing, no matter what he says.

Today, I immediately knew there had been trouble.

We talked about his classes, we talked about lunch period.  It seems like he ran into “trouble” all day.  Nothing major, but little things that picked at his mood all day.  His face said it all.  He was sad and frustrated.

I knew we’d found the source of the problem, when he started talking about the timing of things.  As it turns out, due to the standardized testing that is taking place this week, the entire schedule has been shuffled for the whole week.  2nd period is 4th, 7th period is 1st, you get the picture.

For a kid with Autism, this is a living nightmare.

There’s nothing I can do about the nightmare, but I could talk to him about how to handle it.  Do sensory exercises this afternoon and plan to do them tomorrow in the morning and again in the afternoon, and do a lot of reassuring.  I can’t solve the scheduling issue, but I can make it more tolerable for my Zack and I can give the school counselor a head’s up.

The schedule changes might even explain the lack of focus on homework.

I feel like just figuring out the source of a problem is more than  half the battle.  Today, ASD and I are even steven!

About Commander in Chief At home

Erin is a military spouse and, sometimes temporarily single mom to 4 boys. She's a parenting coach, writer, teacher, special needs (Autism) mom, and much more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear how you feel about this. Leave a Comment

