Like Father, Like Son again- and more on the to do list

I ordered this t-shirt from NavyGear.com for Harold and as soon as it arrived, Bob wanted one for himself.  I had to look elsewhere for the larger size and found the fabulous selection at justaddakid.com.

I love these shirts.  It’s so much fun to see the boys being proud of who their Daddy is and wanting to be like him

Please ignore the missing paint on the banister next to Bob.  I’m in the middle of another do it herself project.  This is a common phenomenon among military spouses.  When the soldier or sailor deploys, it leaves the spouse with SOME quiet time to fill.  So, we take on projects.

When we bought this house, the sellers put a quick coat of fresh paint over the banisters and the paint started peeling almost immediately after we moved in.  We could peel off 5 inch strips of paint!  I decided to sand off the bad paint and repaint them myself.

Of course, with every other little thing on the to do list every day, the bigger projects are often halted and restarted many times.  I hope to finish this one by the end of the summer.

I am realistic in my goals.  I realize that I need to stay positive but realistic.  The pile of laundry that currently occupies a space on the floor of  my bedroom is a stark reminder of this aspect of my life.  I never thought I’d dump out a laundry basket of clean clothes so that I could take a basket of dirty clothes down to the washing machine, but today it happened.  I have a pile of whites on the floor and two loads of darks in the machines down in the laundry room.  At least, this way, my folding effort will be put to good use tomorrow… or the next day.

I should mention that I’ve had a fever for the past two days.  I’ve done all the necessary tasks involved in caring for the home and the kids, but folding laundry doesn’t feel all that necessary when the thermometer nears 102.  Dwight is also unwell.  The clinic aid at school called yesterday.  He had a fever of 102.4.

I did venture out to Home Depot today to get stakes to prop up the trees and bushes that were damaged by the recent storms.  I don’t want them to get more damaged.  Harold and I stood among the rows of annuals, looking for some flowers to plant, as long as we were there and a bird relieved himself on my head!  As they say, when it rains, it pours. A second shower added to the to do list.

Harold and I stopped at the bank and the smoothie store and bagel store on the way home.  What better food for sickies than fruit smoothies fortified by immunity boosts?  The work doesn’t stop just because I’m sick, but I can try to make it a little easier.  Every short cut helps.  Bagels and cream cheese for dinner is the perfect short cut tonight.

I think Dwight and I will be making a trip to the doctor tomorrow.  Just one more thing on the to do list.

About Commander in Chief At home

Erin is a military spouse and, sometimes temporarily single mom to 4 boys. She's a parenting coach, writer, teacher, special needs (Autism) mom, and much more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear how you feel about this. Leave a Comment

