Flat Daddy

After reading the November 28, 2010 issue of Parade- Wish You Were Here | Parade.com http://t.co/lDYhjOA I knew our family had to have a Flat Daddy. Six weeks later, we finally have our flat daddy in our house.

Family and friends laugh and joke about him, but the boys really love having him around. He even arrived just in time to celebrate Daddy and Me day at Harold’s preschool, thanks to the help of Michaels craft store in Reston, VA, where Erica made quick work of mounting the photo and cutting it out for me. My crafting skills are very limited.

The smiles we got overshadowed the strange looks and I foresee Flat Daddy accompanying us on many future outings.  I have to be careful where I place him in the house, though.  If I put him at eye level, he startles me.  It is unsettling seeing the figure of a man in the house when I’m supposed to be the only adult at home.

The boys also have Daddy Dolls, from HugAHero.com.  These are even more of a comfort to them because they keep the figures in their bedroom.  I know the soft toys bring the boys comfort.  The two younger ones sleep cuddling their daddy every night.  It is both heartwarming and sad.  Their daddy is missed, but kept close to all our hearts. These are great websites for families like ours.

About Commander in Chief At home

Erin is a military spouse and, sometimes temporarily single mom to 4 boys. She's a parenting coach, writer, teacher, special needs (Autism) mom, and much more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear how you feel about this. Leave a Comment

